people playing: 86, servers online: 28, games played: 145,334,518 Top Player: Velordrel

Old Nov 19, 2009   #1
Bilza
Shits That Huge
 
2nd Dan Black Belt
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,562



SwiftShader - OpenGL?
Hey,
Having done some research, ive found that i could most probably run shaders through software emulation, Such as swiftshader.
Only problem, is swiftshader is for D3D, has anyone seen/heard of any software shader emulators for OpenGL ?

Many thanks to anyone who helps
Bilza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2009   #2
Zellpheo
Member
 
3rd Dan Black Belt
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 228



So I did a little research and Mesa is a software OpenGL implementation and that might well allow you to use the assembler based shaders on the CPU, however I'm not sure about that. It's worth a try though, and worst case sceneroy your back to where you started. Though from some people who have used it, they say it seems to work pretty well
SuicideDo - Dorrie stands for
Damn Outrageous Reefer Ripping Instrument Extreme
Zellpheo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2009   #3
Bilza
Shits That Huge
 
2nd Dan Black Belt
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,562



Thanks for the quick answer, but i have tried that on both linux and windows, without sucess on both :/
Bilza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2009   #4
Zellpheo
Member
 
3rd Dan Black Belt
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 228



Originally Posted by bilza View Post
Thanks for the quick answer, but i have tried that on both linux and windows, without sucess on both :/

I am sorry to hear that, I will research a bit more, but I might be out of options for you.
SuicideDo - Dorrie stands for
Damn Outrageous Reefer Ripping Instrument Extreme
Zellpheo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2009   #5
War_Hero
Death awaits me...
 
CUNT CUNT CUNT CUNT CUNT CUNT Belt
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7,740



Theres already a thread about this. Also, there is a reason that shaders use GPUs rather than CPUs.
i have a totally post modern tattoo of a scalene triangle.
<DeadorK> fair maiden
<DeadorK> if the cum is going to be in your mouth
<DeadorK> it shall be in mine as well
War_Hero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2009   #6
Blam
Now I know my abc's!
This user title is the property of SkulFuk.
 
4th Dan Black Belt
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,510
Clan: bncy



Originally Posted by War_Hero View Post
Theres already a thread about this. Also, there is a reason that shaders use GPUs rather than CPUs.

Plus the fact that toribash tends to rape your CPU already, this wouldn't really be viable unless you had an insane CPU and a very shit GPU... in which case why build a pc like that? :P
:D
Blam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2009   #7
Bilza
Shits That Huge
 
2nd Dan Black Belt
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,562



Crappy laptop :<

Everything is a chipset, all soldered in, and i cant upgrade it :<

But yea, my CPU isnt great, only 1.87 ghz Dual core, but my GPU is worse, intel family express chipset 965 :S
Bilza is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:22 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ragdoll fighting game physics fighting game ragdoll fighting physics funmotion joints martial arts karate pc mac free game turn based game