Toribash Community » Help » Tutorials
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Apr 30, 2009   #1
crux
Diamonds are not a joke
 
Custom Belt
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,554



2Bash's Create a Custom Menu Tutorial!
Hello there. This tutorial shows you how to create a custom menu in photoshop! If you haven't yet learned how to use photoshop, I suggest looking for tutorials.

This was done for Toribash 3.7.

Start photoshop.


Opening Files
Click open. Go into C: \Games\Toribash-3.72\data\textures, create a folder called Toribash and copy those 6 .tga files into the created folder. This is so you don't lose the original files for the custom menu. Now select the 6 files (you don't really need av_shadow.tga and indicator.tga so just leave them) in ..\textures and open them.


Creating the Background
First, you're going to start with the background. You don't have to, but it's a wise thing to do; create the main theme for the menu. If you want, you can just play around with Hue/Saturation and Brightness/Contrast. Though if you want to create your own background, I suggest creating a new document, 310 x 408 pixels. This is the size of the original background, although you don't have to make it this size. Create your background, then flatten layer if necessary. Now, drag/copy the image (background) onto the background.tga you opened earlier. Place it over the red background, and delete the original layer (Layer 0). Now, if you want, you can apply some Drop Shadow, Glow or Bevel and Emboss. Once you're satisfied, save it in .tga format as 'background' in ..\textures.

Creating the Header
Now, you're going to make the header. If you want the text to look like the original Toribash text, then you can download it or you can download a .psd that I created, which allows you to edit the original text.


If you don't want it to look similar then create your own. It is useful to place your header on the original one, then delete it. This gives a good guide to the alignment. Once you're satisfied, save it in .tga format as 'header' in ..\textures.

Creating the Others
Now create the logo and splatt in the same way and using the same tips suggested for 'background' and 'header'. Again, once you're finished.. save them in .tga format as 'logo' and 'splatt1' in ..\textures.

Viewing your Custom Menu
Open Toribash, and you should now be able to use your menu! There may be problems with alignment but that'll just be a trial and error job.


_____________________________________

Any questions, suggestions or problems you have, drop them here.

Last edited by crux; Jun 18, 2009 at 04:32 PM..
crux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2009   #2
gnx
Member
 
5th Dan Black Belt
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 454



What about changing menu font color?
Free player, Maultiplayer (...)
Do you know how to change it?
gnx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2009   #3
Vamp_09
Senior Member
 
10th Dan Black Belt
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,404



er....it changes? lol
Technical Old School. - It exists.
Vamp_09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2009   #4
gnx
Member
 
5th Dan Black Belt
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 454



I saw some menuses with changed font style.

Ok i defeat this - http://i43.tinypic.com/24oztsm.png
I added stroke in background.tga ;p

Last edited by gnx; Jun 17, 2009 at 11:15 PM..
gnx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2009   #5
crux
Diamonds are not a joke
 
Custom Belt
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,554



Yeah, you can. It doesn't change the font only on the menu, it changes the font for the whole game.

As for changing colours, it is not possible as far as I'm aware.

Originally Posted by gnx View Post
I added stroke in background.tga

Haha, nice. ;]
crux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2009   #6
gnx
Member
 
5th Dan Black Belt
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 454



But if I clicked for example "Fight shool" stroke doesn't suit to the menu text :/
gnx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2009   #7
crux
Diamonds are not a joke
 
Custom Belt
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,554



Ha, true. Also watch out for space when you click 'Setup'.
crux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2009   #8
gnx
Member
 
5th Dan Black Belt
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 454



Thanks, I'll try some another way to make it epic =P
gnx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2009   #9
vengeur35
Senior Member
 
7th Dan Black Belt
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 856



i have a problem
God feed your love to me.
C’est une divinit qui me fait l’offrande de ton amour
vengeur35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2009   #10
decimat0r1
NON-EXISTING!
 
2nd Dan Black Belt
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 90



help
I do not have photoshop can I use paint?
decimat0r1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:26 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ragdoll fighting game physics fighting game ragdoll fighting physics funmotion joints martial arts karate pc mac free game turn based game