Ranking
Original Post
[Tutorial]Drawing semi-realistic hair
Recently I have gotten a lot of request about how to make hair, since my last human drawing tutorial tutorial found here Didn't have hair

Note that you might not want to do this tutorial if you are an absolute beginner in photoshop.

So here is what we are going to make

Un-mirrored: Mirrored:

OK lets start

Step 1: Make a skin tone background color so you can draw a face after you are done. You can choose to draw your hair on a different layer, but that isn't always necessary.

Step 2: paint the basic color that you want the hair to be in, this also helps you plan where you want the hair to go on the head. The arrows indicates where the hair split is and where the strokes of hair go. You have to draw every hair in the same direction to avoid them crossing over each other too much. because hair only go in one direction unless you have really curly hair xD look at a human head for examples.

Step 3: So lets start drawing hair, Make it a little darker than the base color and a little tick, this is just some small strokes to make the background color vary. This also make some parts of the hair appear darker than the others.

Step 4: Make it lighter than the base color this time, this assembles the lighter colors of hair.

Step 5: Now you switch back to a darker color to make it more detailed. And after that you switch to a lighter color, Every time you decrease size to make it more and more rendered and detailed. This brings us several brightnesses to our hair and makes it look more like normal hair.

Step 6: You get the point. Make sure you override the base color(step 1), because you don't want your hair to be linear do you?

Step 7:

Step 8:

Step 9: