Ranking
Original Post
The Absolute Beginner's Guide to Toribash Videoediting
The Absolute Beginner's Guide to Toribash Videoediting

So yeah, I've seen more and more people starting to attempt videomaking for the first time, only to be completely confused about everything going on. On top of that, they aren't able to respond well to cnc due to the fact that they have no clue what the terms people are using mean. Hopefully I can clear a few things up with this quick tutorial for beginners, and perhaps encourage a new wave of editors

This is a tutorial aimed at people who have almost zero knowledge of how to go about making a video. I'm not going to tell you how to create fancy effects or anything like that so if you're already at that level then you shouldn't be here.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Your Editing Program

In this tutorial, I'll be talking more about the theory behind creating a good video rather than how you actually go about doing it. I would go into specifics, however, people use different editing programs and a tip I might give might not be applicable to someone using a different program as I am.

The two most popular programs being used at the moment are Adobe After Effects (AE) and Sony Vegas Pro (SV). If you're using a slower computer, I greatly recommend Sony Vegas because After Effects is extremely computer/RAM-intensive, and has a habit of screwing up if you're running it on a toaster. On the other hand, After Effects is more versatile than Sony Vegas and can be used for a wider range of effects. For the most part, Sony Vegas Pro is enough to get the job done. It's powerful enough to do pretty much everything I say in this tutorial. On the other hand, if you're planning to explore things such as motion graphics, however, After Effects is a better option.

At the end of the day, it's your skill that matters. One program isn't better than the other, they both have their pros and cons.