people playing: 117, servers online: 32, games played: 142,000,000 Top Player: imapirate

  Toribash Community » Help » Technical Support
Register FAQ General Rules Community
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 4 Weeks Ago   #1
WeppetKo
Senior Member
 
8th Dan Black Belt
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,017
Clan: Origin



Game not responding after clicking room list
I have this problem where the game crashes after I press room list in the menu. It does not happen always, I'd say the 70% of the times. Sometimes I can't connect to the server list for a longer period of time.

I don't have problems with the ping or with the /join command, just with that Room List button.

Pretty annoying.
WeppetKo is offline  
Old 4 Weeks Ago   #2
ЯMrMiyagy
Astrophysicist
 
Black Hole Belt
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1,306
Clan: Tank



So you use steam or standalone client? If you use steam you could have to verify cache, if you use standalone, maybe you need to update. You could also maybe meed to lower settings possibly. To verify cache on steam if you didn't know, right click the game in library om steam app, and click properties. Then go to files, and it's one of the options, verify cache or integrity, can't remember exactly. I know this has worked to fix this type of problem for me.
Psychology, the way to win Toribash games.


Last edited by MrMiyagy; 4 Weeks Ago at 05:27 PM.. Reason: Typos and forgot to say something.
MrMiyagy is offline  
Old 4 Weeks Ago   #3
WeppetKo
Senior Member
 
8th Dan Black Belt
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,017
Clan: Origin



Originally Posted by MrMiyagy View Post
So you use steam or standalone client? If you use steam you could have to verify cache, if you use standalone, maybe you need to update. You could also maybe meed to lower settings possibly. To verify cache on steam if you didn't know, right click the game in library om steam app, and click properties. Then go to files, and it's one of the options, verify cache or integrity, can't remember exactly. I know this has worked to fix this type of problem for me.


Steam version. I verified the integrity of game files and it found 5 errors that should have been fixed but the problem persists.


Graphic settings shouldn't be a problem, I can run the game within 30-60 fps costantly.
WeppetKo is offline  
Old 4 Weeks Ago   #4
Surge
 
4th Dan Black Belt
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 1,874
Clan: Adventure



Hi, I had a similar issue to this when I was using a restricted (college) network. Does your network have any restrictions or filters active, or are you using a firewall?
Surge is online now  
Old 4 Weeks Ago   #5
WeppetKo
Senior Member
 
8th Dan Black Belt
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,017
Clan: Origin



Originally Posted by Surge View Post
Hi, I had a similar issue to this when I was using a restricted (college) network. Does your network have any restrictions or filters active, or are you using a firewall?

Hi, actually since my home internet is down in this period I'm not using a router but an hotspot with my phone. Should it go back to normal once I switch back again?
WeppetKo is offline  
Old 4 Weeks Ago   #6
Surge
 
4th Dan Black Belt
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 1,874
Clan: Adventure



It's entirely possible that your hotspot isn't as reliable as your usual broadband, or it may have some limitations. I can't promise anything, but I suspect that to be the issue.

Maybe you could test it out by trying TB on a public WiFi hotspot?
Surge is online now  
Old 4 Weeks Ago   #7
WeppetKo
Senior Member
 
8th Dan Black Belt
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,017
Clan: Origin



Originally Posted by Surge View Post
It's entirely possible that your hotspot isn't as reliable as your usual broadband, or it may have some limitations. I can't promise anything, but I suspect that to be the issue.

Maybe you could test it out by trying TB on a public WiFi hotspot?

Thinking about it I've had several other problems while using the hotspot and I can't do much but wait. The testing might not be so practical where I live.

Anyways thanks for your help.

I'll leave the thread open for now, once I get to test it or my internet is running I'll either close it or post here again.
WeppetKo is offline  
Old 4 Weeks Ago   #8
tertywerty
Big bad bully :'(
 
10th Dan Black Belt
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5,340
Clan: Evil



Toribash will hang in the room list when it refreshes the list if you are on a slow connection. Improve your internet connection and this will no longer be a problem

I am a help squad member. Need help? message me
"<DesiTwist> terty plays tb with the ghost turned off, uke turned off and uses that mouse with the ball in it"
tertywerty is offline  
Old 4 Weeks Ago   #9
WeppetKo
Senior Member
 
8th Dan Black Belt
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,017
Clan: Origin



Originally Posted by tertywerty View Post
Toribash will hang in the room list when it refreshes the list if you are on a slow connection. Improve your internet connection and this will no longer be a problem

The problem is not the connection speed, even with the hotspot I can easily reach 1 Mb/s in download. In the past I used to play with 0.1 Mb/s without having this problem.


EDIT: solved, it was a connection permits problem.

Last edited by WeppetKo; 6 Days Ago at 12:25 AM..
WeppetKo is offline  
Closed Thread


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:35 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ragdoll fighting game physics fighting game ragdoll fighting physics funmotion joints martial arts karate pc mac free game turn based game