Ranking
Original Post
Means vs. Ends / Intentions vs. Results
We're reading about John Stuart Mill and Kant in school, and I thought I might bring this up. Keep in mind that I'm no expert on either Mill or Kant (even less so with Kant, as you will see later in the post), and some other people will definitely bring up more information on the two. I can't exactly search for past threads, and I don't know what views were stated regarding this topic. Go ahead and close this if you deem it necessary.

To start off, here are a few scenarios. Try to think completely outside of the box with these; the answers to these questions do not necessarily have to be limited to what is given. Lastly, I can understand why you might think that this is pointless and why the scenarios are pointless, but instead, try to think about why answers might differ between scenarios. Perhaps we'll be able to obtain more insight from those answers.

1. There is a train that is about to hit 5 people. You are standing next to a switch that will change the path of the train, but by doing so, the train will hit 1 person. What do you do?

2. You are the conductor of the train that is about to hit 5 people. The brakes are shot. You can turn the train to a different track, but by doing so the train will hit 1 other person. What do you do?

3. You are standing at the train station. You see the train coming at a high speed, and you also notice 5 workers on the tracks. The train is on the course to hit them. Next to you is a considerably overweight person. He is leaning over the tracks. If he were to be "accidentally" pushed onto the tracks, there is a chance that the 5 workers would be saved (I'm not trying to jab at overweight people. This is just the scenario, however farfetched it may be, and it is merely hypothetical). What do you do?

Now for some text: