people playing: 68, servers online: 24, games played: 142,000,000 Top Player: Berzerk

  Toribash Community » Toribash » Suggestions & Ideas
Register FAQ General Rules Community
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Nov 10, 2016   #1
Dylan
NON-EXISTING!
 
White Belt
Join Date: Oct 2011



Bet Server
So bet servers are really popular in toribash and I thought that there should be a way to quickly add in all the basic set ups for bet servers in one command like "/setup bet" or something like that. I thought this would be a good idea to make it much simpler for those who aren't familiar with all the commands. I think this would help a lot if it was added.

Last edited by Dylan; Nov 10, 2016 at 10:49 PM..
Dylan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2016   #2
Kradel
Elitist
 
7th Dan Black Belt
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8,053



The issue with this is not at all bets are hosted on the same mod so something like betframes could be off. A tutorial on the forums on bet servers could be nice though. I will gladly make one if nobody else does tomorrow.
blue
pink
Kradel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2016   #3
Dylan
NON-EXISTING!
 
White Belt
Join Date: Oct 2011



Originally Posted by Kradel View Post
The issue with this is not at all bets are hosted on the same mod so something like betframes could be off. A tutorial on the forums on bet servers could be nice though. I will gladly make one if nobody else does tomorrow.



well yeah you are right but I mean it could be a command that just adds in the very basic commands for example it will automatically set you up as owner, but you will have to set the password yourself. Or it could simply put something like minbet 100 and stuff like that all in one command to make it quicker. And of course if you don't like it you can always change it yourself or set it up from scratch command by command.
Dylan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2016   #4
Mercurit
Raconteur
 
6th Dan Black Belt
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 4,253
Clan: Frost



Just following this tutorial should be enough I think: http://forum.toribash.com/showthread.php?t=375178

you do remember that to use a command, we firstly have to code it ? Giving a hours of works to the coders, for something which decrease the time on making a room by 30 sec...

Not supported
[sigpic][/sigpic]
Was zurük bleibt it’s erinnerung

http://forum.toribash.com/showthread.php?t=601486
Make this girl LMod
Mercurit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2016   #5
Dylan
NON-EXISTING!
 
White Belt
Join Date: Oct 2011



alright well I'm not saying that I don't know the commands but I just see a lot of people wanting to make bet servers and they don't know what commands to do but yeah it's not really a great idea I guess.
Dylan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2016   #6
Kirito
Forumite
 
10th Dan Black Belt
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,741



just made a tut, listing all the commands I remember off the top of my head.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Nomad Moderated Message:
Be more straightforward with your uplifting messages or I'll fucking skin you alive.
Kirito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2016   #7
nikosefs
ub3r
 
Drunken Master Belt
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,923



i think what you need is more like a script than a new command,
something that you will run it and it will setup all the basic bet commands,
perhaps try the same request at the mod thread.
nikosefs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2016   #8
Icky
расслабь свою задницу или сделай бриллиант
 
08 Belt
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,461
Clan: Tribe



Idea is fine, although a little bit of a workload for the devs to make.

Could it be a better solution to have the option in little boxes to tick under the textbox for the server name that appears when you click "create"?

(would be potentially more coding than what you are suggesting. But it's a possibility)
Addicted-re 07-16
Custom Profile Shop
[17:31] <~suomynona> <3 Icky
Replay thread thing
Have any reports or issues?

[01:49] toribash is a dumbass
Icky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2016   #9
Aiden
NON-EXISTING!
 
Black Belt
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 56



Originally Posted by nikosefs View Post
i think what you need is more like a script than a new command,
something that you will run it and it will setup all the basic bet commands,
perhaps try the same request at the mod thread.

If I remember correctly, many of the commands which you would want in the script cannot be called by lua
Aiden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2016   #10
Slau
Chatterbox
 
7th Dan Black Belt
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,927



May be easier for people to host betservers, but I think people hosting betservers should know what they're doing, and therefore a detailed forum tutorial might prepare them better for what's to come. Unless you prepare them in the ingame tutorial.
Slau is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:23 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ragdoll fighting game physics fighting game ragdoll fighting physics funmotion joints martial arts karate pc mac free game turn based game