people playing: 80, servers online: 25, games played: 145,066,830 Top Player: Gentleman

  Toribash Community » Help » Tutorials
Register FAQ General Rules Community
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Apr 12, 2008   #1
xFACEx
Senior Member
 
3rd Dan Black Belt
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 819



Guide to making tansparent textures (Photoshop)
I saw that there was only one tutorial on transparent heads,and it was for gimp - made by ronalds. Which is located Here. I decided to make one for photoshop.

I also included the .tga transparent head.

First you need photoshop, which is Here. Unfortunately you have to make an account to download it.

Step #1.
Go to File>New


And put it to these Settings.


Now you will have a blank layer like so.






Step #2.
Create a background layer, with the color black. Then hit Ctrl+Shift+N to create a new layer. On this next layer you will be drawing what you want to be visible on your avatar.






Step #3.
Go to Window>Channels and make a new layer, if its not automatically called "Alpha 1" rename it to "Alpha 1" without the quotes. Make sure all the Rgb layers are invisible (Click on the eyes)











Step #4.
Now you need to choose the "Marquee Tool"


Go back to the layers tab, Windows>Layers


Now hold "Ctrl" and click on the layer where you want your head texture to be visible.







Step #5.
Then go back to Window>Channels and you should already have an outline









Step #6.
Select the brush tool.


And make the hard brush size about 200px or so..


Not soft Brush.







Step #7.
Now click in the middle of the picture with the "Alpha 1" layer selected.






Step #8.
Test your head out.
Attached Files
File Type: tga head.tga (64.0 KB, 69 views)

Last edited by xFACEx; Apr 12, 2008 at 10:44 PM..
xFACEx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2008   #2
TheGod
NON-EXISTING!
 
The Belt
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,162
Clan: The God



nice, looks cool, good for making a visor +rep
TheGod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2008   #3
ronalds
NOT SUSPENDED!
 
7th Dan Black Belt
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,671



its already been done: http://forum.toribash.com/showthread.php?t=27258

i wouldnt have minded that you didnt know it had already been done, but this is on the first page at the moment, so its kind of your fault for not seeing it


edit: yours is for photoshop, which makes this midly acceptable
PARANDROID

Last edited by ronalds; Apr 16, 2008 at 05:08 PM..
ronalds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2008   #4
Blam
Now I know my abc's!
This user title is the property of SkulFuk.
 
4th Dan Black Belt
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,510
Clan: bncy



Originally Posted by ronalds View Post
its already been done: http://forum.toribash.com/showthread.php?t=27258

i wouldnt have minded that you didnt know it had already been done, but this is on the first page at the moment, so its kind of your fault for not seeing it


edit: yours is for photoshop, which makes this midly acceptable

Should of read the first sentance.

I saw that there was only one tutorial on transparent heads,and it was for gimp - made by ronalds. Which is located Here. I decided to make one for photoshop.

:D
Blam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2008   #5
rawksonic
Senior Member
 
2nd Dan Black Belt
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,368



Thanks! I use Photoshop, so Ronalds tut didn't work at all...
~awksoniC
---
/.---------====/:::::=:=:::::\====---------.\
|..D.....A....\...../...|./.../..../\...|\..|...|.../..|
|..l \.../..\....\/\/....l.\..._/....\,,/...|..\|...|...\_,'.|
\.---------====\:::::=:=:::::/====---------./
rawksonic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2008   #6
ronalds
NOT SUSPENDED!
 
7th Dan Black Belt
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,671



I am way too autistic to read first lines, but yes, that was very stupid of me
PARANDROID
ronalds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2008   #7
Aza
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008



I followed all the steps... but it doesn't seem to work for me. Even the head you attached doesn't work.
Aza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2008   #8
xFACEx
Senior Member
 
3rd Dan Black Belt
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 819



You need shaders to have transparency I believe. By the looks of your avatar, you don't?
xFACEx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2008   #9
TheGod
NON-EXISTING!
 
The Belt
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,162
Clan: The God



nope, transparency is in without shaders
TheGod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2008   #10
Aza
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008



Originally Posted by xFACEx View Post
You need shaders to have transparency I believe. By the looks of your avatar, you don't?

Damn. I wish my computer actually had a video card at all except for this peice of crap. Oh sure, I have 2038 MB of RAM, but the worst video card I have herd of....
It prevents my from running games awesomely, running Hellgate London, Neverwinter Nights 2, shaders in Toribash.... ugh.
I need to bring this Vista laptop to the chop shop to get a new video card.
Aza is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:06 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ragdoll fighting game physics fighting game ragdoll fighting physics funmotion joints martial arts karate pc mac free game turn based game