Ranking
Original Post
[Art] Penguins concept art
Concept art for the new 3d animation I'm working on.

Spent like 15-45 minutes on each one on a 15 inch screen. Didn't quite get as good and refined as I was hoping for, but I couldn't really see the small things on that tiny screen. I am probably going to repaint them a little now that I'm on my trusty old 24" screen with perfect colors.

O - M - F - G
They are awesome!
Can you tell me how you do such a soft shading?
btw, with the tags:
9,7/10
First three are definitely the best.
I'm happy to see you trying something new color-wise.
Fr3styL . Improving by Improvising
I'm an artist.
Oh this is not even close to the finished result :P waiting for my friend to send them to me from his comp.
Last edited by Ezeth; Oct 21, 2012 at 08:05 PM.
Ezeth, check my thread in here.
You can see the level I'm at right meow (still rusty..).
If you're still willing to co-op that is.

I really like cookies and I once saw a whale.
Fr3styL . Improving by Improvising
I'm an artist.
yeah maybe soon I will contact you if I get the time and will to do so.

Final drawings:

Originally Posted by Pheyli View Post
O - M - F - G
They are awesome!
Can you tell me how you do such a soft shading?
btw, with the tags:
9,7/10

Use less contrasts, pick the right size of brush, paint with lower opacity and make the transitions between the colors as smooth as possible. Ofc having a tablet helps a little but its not really mission critical.
I usually make everything medium gray and work my way darker and lighter from there. for coloring a multiply layer is nice to have. Also dodge and burn comes in handy for the finishing touch. One really important step is to have a ton of patience and never rush anything (unless you don't have the time ofc)